Cirque Éloize - Cirkopolis
Skip to Content
facebook twitter
Bluma Appel Theatre
Mar 01, 2017 - Mar 18, 2017

Cirque Éloize - Cirkopolis

  A Sony Centre for the Performing Arts and Canadian Stage Co-Presentation

SC logo Canadian Stage logo

 

With Cirkopolis, Cirque Éloize presents a show that combines the worlds of circus, dance and theatre. In the heart of a stern and imposing city in appearance, giant gears and dark portals symbolize a mechanism that crushes individuality. 

Performing within an inventive stage design and accompanied by an original musical score and video projections, eleven acrobats and multidisciplinary artists rebel against monotony, reinvent themselves and challenge the limits of the factory-city. In a world where fantasy provokes reality, the veil of anonymity and solitude is lifted and replaced by bursts of colour.

Cirkopolis unfolds scene by scene like an elemental universe, with sculptural imagery: jugglers brave the space, a contortionist is lifted by her companions in a surge of inspiration, aerial artists defy the height of the skyscrapers. Experiencing Cirkopolis is also stepping into the dance of the Cyr wheel, dreading the audacity of the German wheel and discovering the candour of a man who dreams only of dancing.

Cirkopolis was imagined as a crossroads — between imagination and reality, between individuality and community, between limits and possibilities. The show is driven by the poetic impulse of life, the physical prowess of the circus and the humour, at once serious and light-hearted. Entering Cirkopolis is all about letting go and allowing yourself to be borne aloft by hope,” explained Jeannot Painchaud, creative director of Cirque Éloize and co-director of Cirkopolis.




Show More +
Cirque Éloize - Cirkopolis
Info

Price Range $39 - $99. 

VIEW 2016/17 SEASON BROCHURE

Group Discount Available for this show.

Getting Here
Performance Times
Wed Mar 1, 7:30 PM
Thu Mar 2, 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 3, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 4, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 4, 1:00 PM
Sun Mar 5, 1:00 PM
Wed Mar 8, 7:30 PM
Thu Mar 9, 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 10, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 11, 1:00 PM
Sat Mar 11, 7:30 PM
Sun Mar 12, 1:00 PM
Wed Mar 15, 7:30 PM
Wed Mar 15, 1:00 PM
Thu Mar 16, 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 17, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 18, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 18, 1:00 PM
Pre-show Talks
Related Links
 
MEDIA PARTNERS    
Toronto Star logo Classical 96 Logo CBC Logo
   Cirkopolis Logo Bar